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Bill Author Topic Page # 

AB 129 Bloom Waste management: plastic microfiber. 2 

AB 142 Garcia Lead-acid batteries. 2 

AB 161 Ting Solid waste: paper waste: electronic proofs of purchase. 3 

AB 176 Cervantes 
California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation 

Financing Authority. 
3 

AB 187 
Cristina Garcia and 

Bigelow 
Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act: budget. 3 

AB 215 Mathis Dumping. 4 

SB 33 Skinner Solid waste: reduction and recycling. 4 

SB 43 Allen Carbon taxes. 5 

SB 54 Allen and Wiener Single-use plastic waste: reduction. 5 
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SB 68 Galgiani Hazardous waste: treated wood waste. 5 
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AB 129 Bloom Introduced 
December 04, 
2018 

Existing Law: The Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986 (Proposition 65) 
prohibits any person from knowingly and intentionally exposing any individual to a chemical 
known to the state to cause cancer or reproductive toxicity, or from discharging or releasing 
such a chemical into any source of drinking water. Existing law prohibits, on and after January 
1, 2020, a person, business, or other entity from selling or offering for promotional purposes in 
this state a personal care product containing plastic microbeads.  

 
Proposed Law: This bill would declare the intent of the Legislature to, among other things, 
enact legislation to recognize the emerging threat that microfibers pose to the environment and 
water quality and would make related findings and declarations. 

 

AB 142 Garcia Introduced 
December 13, 
2018 

Existing Law: The Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 prohibits a person from disposing, 
or attempting to dispose, of a lead-acid battery at a solid waste facility or on or in any land, 
surface waters, watercourses, or marine waters, but authorizes a person to dispose of a lead-
acid battery at certain locations. The act requires, until March 31, 2022, a manufacturer battery 
fee of $1 to be imposed on a manufacturer of lead-acid batteries for each lead-acid battery it 
sells in California. The act requires the manufacturer battery fee to be paid to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration. The act requires manufacturer battery fees 
remitted pursuant to these provisions to be credited against amounts owed by the 
manufacturer to the state under a judgment or determination of liability under specific 
hazardous materials provisions or any other law for removal, remediation, or other costs 
relating to a release of a hazardous substance from a lead-acid battery recycling facility. The 
act requires a portion of moneys from the manufacturer battery fee to be deposited into the 
Lead-Acid Battery Cleanup Fund and provides that moneys in the fund are available upon 
appropriation by the Legislature to the Department of Toxic Substances. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would increase the amount of the manufacturer battery fee to $2 and 
would provide that the fee would continue indefinitely. The bill would require CalRecycle, on or 
before January 1, 2020, to submit to the Legislature a report that includes any regulations or 
policies adopted for purposes of ensuring compliance. This bill would declare that it is to take 
effect immediately as an urgency statute. 
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AB 161 Ting Introduced 
January 7, 2019 

Existing Law: The California Retail Food Code, establishes uniform health and sanitation 
standards for, and provides for regulation by the State Department of Public Health of, retail 
food facilities. Existing law defines "enforcement officer," for purposes of enforcing these 
provisions. Existing law prohibits certain stores from providing a single-use carryout bag to a 
customer at the point of sale and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use 
plastic straws to consumers unless requested by the consumer. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would require, on and after January 1, 2022, a proof of purchase for 
retail sales and services, provided to a consumer, by a business to be provided only in 
electronic form, unless the consumer requests that the proof of purchase be provided in paper 
form. The bill would specify that the first and 2nd violations of these provisions would result in a 
notice of violation and any subsequent violation would be an infraction punishable by a fine of 
$25 for each day the business is in violation, but not to exceed an annual total of $300. The 
provisions would be enforced by the same enforcement officers authorized to enforce the 
California Retail Food Code. By creating a new crime and imposing additional enforcement 
duties on local health agencies, this bill would impose a state-mandated local program.  

 

AB 176 Cervantes Introduced 
January 09, 2019 

Existing Law: The California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing 
Authority Act establishes the California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation 
Financing Authority. The act authorizes, until January 1, 2021, the authority to provide financial 
assistance in the form of a sales and use tax exclusion for projects, including those that 
promote California-based manufacturing, California-based jobs, advanced manufacturing, 
reduction of greenhouse gases, or reduction in air and water pollution or energy consumption. 
The act prohibits the sales and use tax exclusions from exceeding $100,000,000 for each 
calendar year. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would extend the authorization to provide financial assistance in the 
form of a sales and use tax exclusion for qualifying projects until January 1, 2031. 

 

AB 187 Cristina 
Garcia 
and 
Bigelow 

Introduced 
January 10, 2019 

Existing Law: The Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act, administered by CalRecycle, 
authorizes a mattress recycling organization to be established by a qualified industry 
association to develop, implement, and administer a mattress recycling program, including the 
development of a state plan, for recycling used mattresses. The act requires the mattress 
recycling organization to, on or before July 1 of each year, prepare and submit to the 
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department a proposed used mattress recycling program budget for the following calendar year 
that includes a recommended funding level sufficient to cover the plan’s budgeted costs and to 
operate the mattress recycling program over a multiyear period in a prudent and responsible 
manner. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would instead require the organization to include in the proposed 
program budget a recommended funding level sufficient to cover the plan’s budgeted costs and 
to operate the mattress recycling program over a 6-month period in a prudent and responsible 
manner. The bill would prohibit the organization from maintaining more funding in its reserve 
than the recommended funding level for that calendar year. 

AB 215 Mathis Introduced 
January 15, 2019 

Existing Law: Existing law prohibits dumping waste matter in or upon a public or private 
highway or road, in or upon private property into or upon which the public is admitted by 
easement or license, upon private property without the consent of the owner, or in or upon a 
public park or other public property. A violation of these provisions is an infraction punishable 
by a fine between $250 and $1,000 for a first conviction, between $500 and $1,500 for a 2nd 
conviction, and between $750 and $3,000 for a 3rd or subsequent conviction. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would make dumping waste matter on private property, including on 
any private road or highways, without the consent of the owner punishable by a fine between 
$250 and $1,000 for a first conviction, between $500 and $1,500 for a 2nd conviction, and 
between $750 and $3,000 for a 3rd conviction. The bill would make a 4th or subsequent 
conviction a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 30 
days and by a fine of not less than $750 nor more than $3,000. 

 

SB 33 Skinner Introduced 
December 03, 
2018 
 
Referred to 
Committee on 
Rules 

Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the 
CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that would 
address the collapse of foreign recycling markets by reducing solid waste generation, 
encouraging transition to compostable or recyclable materials, and fostering domestic recycling 
markets. 
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SB 43 Allen Introduced 
December 03, 
2018 
 
Referred to 
Committees on 
Environmental 
Quality & 
Governance and 
Finance 

Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air 
Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of 
emissions of greenhouse gases (GHG). ARB is required to approve a statewide GHG 
emissions limit equivalent to the statewide GHG emissions level in 1990 to be achieved by 
2020 and to ensure that statewide GHG emissions are reduced to at least 40% below the 1990 
level by 2030. The Act requires ARB to prepare and approve a scoping plan for achieving the 
maximum technologically feasible and cost-effective reductions in GHG emissions and to 
update the scoping plan at least once every 5 years. The Sales and Use Tax Law imposes a 
tax on retailers measured by the gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property sold 
at retail in this state, or on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible 
personal property purchased from a retailer for storage, use, or other consumption in this state. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would require ARB, in consultation with the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration, to submit a report to the Legislature on the results of a study, to 
propose and to determine the feasibility and practicality of a system to replace the tax imposed 
pursuant to the Sales and Use Tax Law with an assessment on retail products sold or used in 
the state based on the carbon intensity of the product to encourage the use of less carbon-
intensive products. The bill would require ARB to revise the 2017 scoping plan to reflect the 
carbon emission reduction benefits that may be realized through the imposition of the 
assessment based on carbon intensities of products, and to consider the results of the study in 
future updates to the scoping plan. 

 

SB 54 Allen and 
Wiener 

Introduced 
December 11, 
2018 
 
Referred to 
Committee on 
Rules 

Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the 
CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste, 
including, among other solid waste, single-use plastic straws. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that would 
significantly reduce the amount of single-use plastic waste entering California's waste stream, 
polluting our oceans, littering our local communities and beaches, and costing local 
governments millions of dollars in cleanup costs. 

 

SB 68 Galgiani Introduced 
January 9, 2018 
 

Existing Law: As part of the hazardous waste control laws, requires treated wood waste to be 
disposed of in either a class I hazardous waste landfill or in a composite-lined portion of a solid 
waste landfill unit that meets specified requirements. Existing law requires each wholesaler and 
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Referred to 
Committee on 
Environmental 
Quality 

retailer of treated wood and treated wood-like products to conspicuously post information that 
contains a specified message at or near the point of display or customer selection of treated 
wood and treated wood-like products. A violation of the hazardous waste control laws is a 
crime. 

 
Proposed Law: This bill would require that message to include an additional specified 
statement relating to the Internet Web site at which the list of approved landfills that accept 
treated wood waste can be found. 


