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4 AB 54 Ting
The California Beverage Container
Recycling and Litter Reduction Act.

This bill exempts from beverage container redemption
requirements, until March 1, 2020, certain dealers that are
located in a convenience zone that was served by, or
exempted because of, a recycling center that closed between
August 1, 2019, and September 1, 2019, at the initiation of
the recycler. This will would Exempts from beverage
container redemption requirements dealers located in an
unserved convenience zone if a completed application for a
recycling center within the convenience zone is pending
before CalRecycle and a letter is submitted to CalRecycle
stating the recycling center’s intent to serve that convenience
zone. Sunsets this provision July 1, 2020. Authorizes, from
the 2019-2020 fiscal year to the 2021-2022 fiscal year,
CalRecycle to expend up to $5,000,000 to support the
recycling pilot projects. Declares the purpose of this
appropriation is to ensure the continued support of, and to
bolster, consumer redemption opportunities.

16 AB 1298 Mullin

Climate Resiliency, Fire Risk
Reduction, Recycling, Groundwater
and Drinking Water Supply, Clean
Beaches, and Jobs Infrastructure

Bond Act of 2020.

Watch

This bill would enact the Climate Resiliency, Fire Risk
Reduction, Recycling, Groundwater and Drinking Water
Supply, Clean Beaches, and Jobs Infrastructure Bond Act of
2020, which, if approved by the voters, would authorize the
issuance of bonds in an unspecified amount pursuant to the
State General Obligation Bond Law to finance a climate
resiliency, fire risk reduction, recycling, groundwater and
drinking water supply, clean beaches, and jobs infrastructure
program. The bill would require the bond act to be submitted
to the voters at the November 3, 2020, statewide general
election.

Staff recommends Watch to see if a specific allocation for
Biogas from organics recycling is identified.

17 AB 1652 Wicks Crimes: littering.
Oppose unless

Amended

Existing law prohibits littering or dumping waste into a body
of water or onto a beach or shoreline. A violation of this
prohibition is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine. Under
existing law, the court may, in addition to a fine, order a
convicted person to pick up litter as a condition of probation.
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This bill would instead authorize the court to order a person
to perform community service, including, but not limited to,
picking up litter.

Staff recommends Opposing unless amended, local
governments in California annually spend in excess of four
hundred twenty million dollars ($420,000,000) in ongoing
efforts to clean up and prevent plastic and other litter from
entering our rivers and streams and polluting our beaches
and oceans.

Recommended amendment to:
1. Litter cleanup ought to be mandatory when convicted of
littering crimes.

18 AB 1770 Frazer
Tire recycling program: rubberized

pavement.
Support

This bill would extend the sunset on the Rubberized
Pavement Market Development Act (Act), from June 30,
2019 to June 30, 2024. The program is intended to promote
markets for recycled-content surfacing products derived from
waste tires generated in California and decrease the adverse
environmental impacts created by unlawful disposal and
stockpiling of waste tires. The program provides competitive
grants to encourage first-time or limited users of rubberized
asphalt concrete (RAC). C&D is a one of the largest waste
streams to landfill.

Staff recommends Support, as this bill will extend this
needed and successful waste diversion program.

18 SB 33 Skinner Solid waste: reduction and recycling. Watch

This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact
legislation that would address the collapse of foreign
recycling markets by reducing solid waste generation,
encouraging transition to compostable or recyclable
materials, and fostering domestic recycling markets.

26 SB 552 Archuleta

Hazardous waste: household
hazardous waste: door-to-door
collection programs: residential

pickup services.

Support

This bill would extend the operation of hazardous waste
control laws pertaining to door-to-door HHW collection
program or HHW residential pickup service to use a specified
manifesting procedure for transporting HHW, to transport
that waste to a hazardous waste facility, and the operation of
the unified program requirement to consolidate the
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administration of the hazardous waste control laws that are
applicable to those transfer facilities indefinitely. This bill
would also repeal the provisions authorizing a facility
operator to submit an electronic report in lieu of a copy of
each manifest and requiring a transporter to submit a copy of
the manifest to DTSC.
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AB 54 Ting Amended
September 10,
2019.

Enrolling
September 14,
2019.

Existing Law: (1) The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act (Act),
requires CalRecycle to annually designate convenience zones and requires that at least one
certified recycling center that meets certain requirements be located within every convenience
zone. The Act requires dealers within a convenience zone where no recycling location has been
established, or within a convenience zone that is unserved for 60 days and not exempt from
convenience zone requirements, to submit an affidavit to CalRecycle stating that the dealer has
met specified standards for redemption, including, among others, that the dealer is redeeming
all empty beverage container types at all open cash registers or at one designated location on
the dealer's premises, during all hours that the dealer is open for business. If the dealer does
not submit that affidavit, existing law requires the dealer to pay $100 per day to CalRecycle, for
deposit in the continuously appropriated California Beverage Container Recycling Fund, until a
recycling location is established or until the dealer meets the standards for redemption specified
in the affidavit provision. (2) The Act, until January 1, 2020, authorizes up to 5 limited-term
recycling pilot projects, subject to CalRecycle approval, that are designed to improve redemption
opportunities in unserved convenience zones. The act subjects each pilot project to certain
requirements, including, among others, that the pilot project not establish a redemption location
outside of a convenience zone.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill, until March 1, 2020, would exempt from those duties dealers
located in a convenience zone that was served by a recycling center that closed between August
1, 2019, and September 1, 2019, at the initiation of the recycler. The bill would also, until July 1,
2020, exempt from those duties a dealer located in an unserved convenience zone if a
completed application for a recycling center located anywhere in the convenience zone is
pending before CalRecycle and the dealer and the recycling center submit a letter to CalRecycle
stating that the recycling center intends to serve that convenience zone. The bill, until July 1,
2020, would make such a recycling center eligible to receive handling fees for redeemed
beverage containers once its application is approved. (2) This bill would extend the operation of
that authorization until January 1, 2022, and would revise the pilot project requirements,
including, among other revisions, prohibiting a pilot project from establishing a redemption
location outside of the pilot project area rather than outside of a convenience zone. The bill
would authorize CalRecycle, for the 2019-20 fiscal year to the 2021-22 fiscal year, inclusive, to
expend up to a total of $5,000,000 from the fund to support the pilot projects. By authorizing
expenditures from a continuously appropriated fund for a new purpose, the bill would make an
appropriation. (3) This bill would authorize the Director of Finance to approve the expenditure of
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up to $5,000,000 from the fund for supplemental payments to recycling centers if certain
conditions are met, thereby making an appropriation. This bill would declare that it is to take
effect immediately as an urgency statute.

AB 142 Garcia Amended
August 13, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 12,
2019.

Existing Law: (1) The Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 prohibits a person from
disposing, or attempting to dispose, of a lead-acid battery at a solid waste facility or on or in any
land, surface waters, watercourses, or marine waters, but authorizes a person to dispose of a
lead-acid battery at certain locations. The act requires, until March 31, 2022, a manufacturer
battery fee of $1 to be imposed on a manufacturer of lead-acid batteries for each lead-acid
battery it sells at retail to a person in California, or that it sells to a dealer, wholesaler, distributor,
or other person for retail sale in California. The act requires the manufacturer battery fee to be
paid to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and requires dealers
and manufacturers of lead-acid batteries to register with the department. The act defines
"manufacturer" for these purposes. The act requires manufacturer battery fees remitted pursuant
to the act to be credited against amounts owed by the manufacturer to the state under a
judgment or determination of liability under specific hazardous materials provisions or any other
law for removal, remediation, or other response costs relating to a release of a hazardous
substance from a lead-acid battery recycling facility. (2) The act imposes a California battery fee
on a person for specified types of replacement lead-acid batteries purchased from a dealer. (4)
The act creates in the State Treasury the Lead-Acid Battery Cleanup Fund and requires that the
fees collected pursuant to the act, except for specified administrative expenses, be deposited
into the fund, and provides that moneys in the fund are available upon appropriation by the
Legislature to the department for specified activities, including the investigation, site evaluation,
cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring, or other response actions at any area of the state
that is reasonably suspected to have been contaminated by the operation of a lead-acid battery
recycling facility, and for the repayment of specified loans.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill would, on and after April 1, 2022, increase the amount of the
manufacturer battery fee to $2 and would provide that the fee would continue indefinitely. The
bill, on and after January 1, 2020, would authorize a person who manufactures a lead-acid
battery and is not subject to the jurisdiction of the state to agree in writing with the importer, as
defined, of that lead-acid battery to pay the manufacturer battery fee on behalf of the importer.
The bill would require CalRecycle on or before January 1, 2022, to submit to the Legislature a
report that includes, among other things, any regulations or policies adopted by the department
for purposes of ensuring compliance with the registration, returns, reporting, payments, audits,

Floor Alert in
Support sent to
State Senators on
September 4,
2019.
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refunds, or collection requirements related to the manufacturer battery fee. The bill would require
a manufacturer, if a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling
the manufacturer to regard the purchase as not subject to the manufacturer battery fee, to written
documentation from the purchaser certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner
or for a purpose entitling the manufacturer to regard the purchase as not subject to the
manufacturer battery fee. The bill would make a purchaser who subsequently sells or uses the
lead-acid battery, such that no exception to the requirement to pay the applicable fee or fees
applies, liable for the payment of any applicable fees. The bill would make a purchaser who
subsequently sells or uses the lead-acid battery, such that no exception to the requirement to
pay the applicable fee or fees applies, liable for the payment of any applicable fees. This bill
would additionally require that manufacturer battery fees remitted pursuant to the act be credited
to the account of the manufacturer remitting those fees. The bill would require that a person who
agrees in writing to pay the manufacturer battery fee on behalf of an importer be credited for a
payment of the manufacturer battery fee only if certain conditions are met, including that the
person provide to the purchaser of a lead-acid battery a statement that includes specified
information on the invoice, contract, or other record documenting the transaction. The bill would
relieve a purchaser of a lead-acid battery who receives that statement in a timely manner, and
any subsequent purchaser of that battery, from liability for the manufacturer battery fee that
would otherwise be imposed on the sale of that battery, provided that the manufacturer remits
payment of the manufacturer battery fee to the state for the sale of that battery. The bill would
authorize an importer who has paid the manufacturer battery fee and who receives an untimely
statement that the fee has been paid for that battery to file a claim for a refund of any overpaid
fees. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to disclose the name, address, account number, and
account status of a person registered with the department to pay the manufacturer battery fee.
The bill would provide that account status does not include the amount of the manufacturer
battery fee paid by any person. (2) This bill would provide, on and after January 1, 2020, if a
new motor vehicle dealer sells or leases to a person a used vehicle into which the new motor
vehicle dealer has incorporated a replacement lead-acid battery, that the California battery fee
does not apply to the person with regard to that replacement lead-acid battery. The bill would
require a dealer, if a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling
the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the California battery fee, to obtain written
documentation from the purchaser certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner
or for a purpose entitling the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the California battery
fee. The bill would make a purchaser who subsequently sells or uses the lead-acid battery, such
that no exception to the requirement to pay the applicable fee or fees applies, liable for the
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payment of any applicable fees. (3) This bill would require the Department of Toxic Substances
Control (DTSC) to establish a Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Facility Investigation and Cleanup
Program, or LABRIC Program, which would be responsible for identifying areas of the state that
are eligible for expenditure of moneys from the Lead-Acid Battery Cleanup Fund for certain
purposes. The bill would require the program to provide public notice of the initiation of the
investigation or site evaluation of any area reasonably suspected to have been contaminated by
the operation of a lead-acid battery recycling facility. The bill would require the department, upon
completion of an investigation or site evaluation, to provide notice and an opportunity for
comment on the proposed designation of a site as determined with reasonable certainty to have
been contaminated by releases from the operation of a facility known to have been a lead-acid
battery recycling facility. The bill would provide that expenditure from the fund for purposes of
further investigation or evaluation for a site is no longer authorized if, within 2 years of a public
notice of the initiation of the investigation or evaluation, the department is unable to designate a
site as determined with reasonable certainty to have been contaminated by the operation of a
lead-acid battery recycling facility. (4) This bill would revise the authorization for expenditure
from the fund to permit expenditure for cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring, or other
response actions to address contamination directly attributable to releases from a facility known
to have been a lead-acid battery recycling facility at any area of the state that the department
determines with reasonable certainty was contaminated by releases from the operation of that
lead-acid battery recycling facility. The bill would authorize expenditure of moneys from the fund
for the repayment of the loans described above only after the other specified activities have
been fully funded.

AB 176 Cervantes Amended
September 6,
2019.

Enrolling
September 13,
2019.

Existing Law: The California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing
Authority Act establishes the California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation
Financing Authority (CAEATFA). The act authorizes, until January 1, 2021, the authority to
provide financial assistance in the form of a sales and use tax exclusion for projects, including
those that promote California-based manufacturing, California-based jobs, advanced
manufacturing, the reduction of greenhouse gases, or the reduction in air and water pollution or
energy consumption. The act prohibits the sales and use tax exclusions from exceeding
$100,000,000 for each calendar year. The act requires the authority to evaluate a project
application based on specified criteria, including, among others, the extent to which the project
will create new, permanent jobs in the state.
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Proposed Law: This bill instead would require CAEATFA to evaluate a project application for
the extent to which the project will create new, or result in the loss of, permanent, full-time jobs
in the state. This bill would incorporate additional changes to Section 26011.8 of the Public
Resources Code proposed by AB 1583 to be operative only if this bill and AB 1583 are enacted
and this bill is enacted last. This bill would include a change in state statute that would result in
a taxpayer paying a higher tax within the meaning of Section 3 of Article XIII A of the California
Constitution, and thus would require for passage the approval of 2/3 of the membership of each
house of the Legislature. This bill would take effect immediately as a tax levy.

AB 187 Cristina
Garcia and
Bigelow

Amended
September 6,
2019.

Enrolled
September 16,
2019.

Existing Law: The Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act, administered by CalRecycle,
authorizes a mattress recycling organization to be established by a qualified industry association
to develop, implement, and administer a mattress recycling program in the state. The act
requires the organization to develop and submit to CalRecycle for approval a plan, including a
budget to implement the plan, for the recovery and recycling of used mattresses. The act
requires the organization to submit CalRecycle and make publicly available annual reports
relating to the program. The act requires CalRecycle's director to appoint an advisory committee
to be part of the organization. The act requires the organization to set the amount of a state
mattress recycling charge to fund the recycling of used mattresses under the act that is added
to the purchase price of a mattress, and authorizes the organization to change the amount of
the charge. The act requires a mattress retailer to give a consumer the option to have a used
mattress picked up, at no additional cost, at the time a new mattress is delivered. A violation of
the act may be subject to an administrative civil penalty.

Proposed Law: This bill would revise and recast provisions of the act, including requiring the
organization to review the plan and determine whether amendments to the plan are necessary
every 5 years. The bill would require the organization to include additional specified information
and goals in the plan, the budget, and the annual reports, and would require the advisory
committee to prepare written recommendations for the organization. The bill would prohibit,
commencing January 1, 2027, the organization's financial reserve from exceeding 60% of its
annual operating expenses. The bill would prohibit the revenue from the charge from being
expended for specified purposes. The bill would also require CalRecycle to establish a process
and schedule for an orderly transition of responsibility from a decertified mattress recycling
organization to a successor organization.

Floor Alert in
Support sent to
State Senators on
September 5,
2019.

AB 293 Eduardo
Garcia

Chaptered July
12, 2019.

Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 establishes the State Air
Resources Board as the state agency responsible for monitoring and regulating sources emitting

Letter of Support
if Amended /
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greenhouse gases. The act requires the state board to approve a statewide greenhouse gas
emissions limit equivalent to the statewide greenhouse gas emissions level in 1990 to be
achieved by 2020 and to ensure that statewide greenhouse gas emissions are reduced to at
least 40% below the 1990 level by 2030. The act authorizes the state board to include the use
of market-based compliance mechanisms. Existing law, until January 1, 2031, establishes the
Compliance Offsets Protocol Task Force (COPTF) to provide guidance to the state board in
approving new offset protocols for a market-based compliance mechanism for the purposes of
increasing offset projects with direct environmental benefits in the state while prioritizing
disadvantaged communities, Native American or tribal lands, and rural and agricultural regions.

Proposed Law: This bill would require the COPTF to consider the development of additional
offset protocols, including, but not limited to, protocols for the enhanced management or
conservation of agricultural and natural lands, and for the enhancement and restoration of
wetlands. The bill would require the COPTF to develop recommendations for the state board on
the inclusion of methodologies to allow groups of landowners to jointly develop natural and
working lands offset projects under the approved offset protocols.

Oppose unless
Amended sent to
Senate
Committee on
Appropriations on
June 20, 2019.

AB 296 Cooley Amended
August 30, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 12,
2019.

Existing Law: The State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission is
required to develop and implement the Electric Program Investment Charge program for the
purpose of awarding funds to projects that may lead to technological advancement and
breakthroughs to overcome barriers that prevent the achievement of the state's statutory energy
goals and that may result in a portfolio of projects that are strategically focused and sufficiently
narrow to make advancement on the most significant technological challenges. Existing law
authorizes an individual to contribute amounts in excess of their personal income tax liability for
the support of specified funds. Under existing law, there are general administrative provisions
applicable to these voluntary contributions, which, among other things, provide for the
disbursement of contributions following the repeal of the fund's provisions and require
undesignated funds to be transferred to the General Fund. Existing law requires any new or
extended voluntary contribution to include the words "voluntary tax contribution" in the name of
the fund, to require the administering agency to include specified information about the fund on
its internet website, to continuously appropriate from the fund the contributions made to the
administering agency, to set a minimum contribution amount for the continuation of any voluntary
tax contribution on the tax return form, and to include a generally applicable repeal date for a
voluntary tax contribution.

Floor Alert of
Support If
Amended sent to
State Senators on
September 5,
2019.
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Proposed Law: This bill would establish the Climate Innovation Grant Program, to be
administered by Strategic Growth Council or another entity identified by the council that it
determines to have the appropriate skills necessary to successfully implement this program. The
bill would establish the Climate Innovation Fund in the State Treasury and would continuously
appropriate the moneys in the fund to the council for purposes of the program. Once the Climate
Innovation Fund accrues $2,000,000, the bill would require the council or the entity implementing
the program to notify the Franchise Tax Board and would require the program to award grants
for the development and research of new innovations and technologies that either reduce
emissions of greenhouse gases or address impacts caused by climate change. The bill would
repeal the program on January 1, 2031. This bill would allow an individual to designate on their
tax return that a specified amount in excess of their personal income tax liability be transferred
to the Climate Innovation Voluntary Tax Contribution Account, which would be created by this
bill. The bill would conform with those aforementioned administrative requirements by
continuously appropriating those funds to the Franchise Tax Board and the Controller for
administrative costs and to the Climate Innovation Fund. The bill would also conform by requiring
the Strategic Growth Council to comply with certain internet website reporting requirements. The
bill would make the voluntary tax contribution provisions operative upon notification of the
Franchise Tax Board that the fund has accrued $2,000,000. The bill would repeal these
provisions as of the sooner of December 1 of the year that the minimum contribution amount of
$250,000 is not met or by a specified repeal date.

AB 614 Eggman Amended June
13, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 18,
2019.

Existing Law: The Personal Income Tax Law and the Corporation Tax Law allow various credits
against the taxes imposed by those laws, including, for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2022, a credit for qualified taxpayers, defined as the
person responsible for planting a crop, managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the
land, in an amount equal to 15% of the qualified value of fresh fruits or vegetables donated to a
food bank.

Proposed Law: This bill, under both laws, would expand the credit to apply to the donation of
qualified donation items, defined as raw agricultural products or processed foods. The bill would
expand the definition of qualified taxpayer to also include the person responsible for growing or
raising a qualified donation item, or harvesting, packing, or processing a qualified donation item
but would exclude a retailer from that expanded definition. The bill would apply these provisions

Floor Alert in
Support sent to
State Senators on
September 5,
2019.
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to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. This bill would take effect immediately
as a tax levy.

AB 619 Chiu Chaptered July
12, 2019.

Existing Law: The California Retail Food Code provides for the regulation of health and
sanitation standards for retail food facilities by the State Department of Public Health. Under
existing law, local health agencies are primarily responsible for enforcing the California Retail
Food Code, and a person who violates any provision of the code is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Existing law requires returned empty containers intended for refilling with food or beverage to
be cleaned and refilled in an approved facility, except that consumer-owned containers may be
refilled and returned to the same consumer if the container is refilled by an employee of the food
facility or the owner of the container and the dispensing system includes a contamination-free
transfer process. Existing law defines a temporary food facility, for purposes of the California
Retail Food Code, as a food facility approved by the enforcement officer that operates at a fixed
location for the duration of an approved community event or at a swap meet and only as a part
of the community event or swap meet. Under existing law, a temporary food facility is required
to provide single-use articles for use by the consumer.

Proposed Law: This bill would instead provide that clean consumer-owned containers provided
or returned to the food facility for filling may be filled by either the employee or the owner of the
container and would require the food facility to isolate the consumer-owned containers from the
serving surface or sanitize the serving surface after each filling. The bill would require the
consumer-owned containers to be designed and constructed for reuse. The bill would require
the food facility to prepare, maintain, and adhere to written procedures to prevent cross-
contamination, and to make the written procedures available to the enforcement agency. This
bill would authorize a local enforcement agency to allow a temporary food facility to use multiuse
utensils that are cleaned, rinsed, and sanitized at either the temporary food facility or an
approved food facility.

Letter of Support
and Amend sent
to Senate
Committee on
Appropriations on
June 17, 2019.

AB 729 Chu Amended July 5,
2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor

Existing Law: (1) Requires a manufacturer of carpets sold in this state to submit, either
individually or through a carpet stewardship organization, a carpet stewardship plan that meets
specified requirements to CalRecycle, and requires CalRecycle to approve or disapprove the
plan. Existing law imposes a carpet stewardship assessment per unit of carpet sold in the state
that is remitted by carpet manufacturers to the carpet stewardship organization and may be
expended to carry out the organization's carpet stewardship plan. Existing law authorizes

Floor Alert in
Support sent to
State Senators on
September 4,
2019.
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September 13,
2019..

CalRecycle to administratively impose civil penalties on any person who is in violation of any
provision of the carpet stewardship laws, of up to $1,000 per day or $10,000 per day if the
violation is intentional, knowing, or negligent. (2) Existing law requires a carpet stewardship
organization submitting a carpet stewardship plan to pay to the department a quarterly
administrative fee, as specified. Existing law prohibits the total amount of the administrative fees
paid for a calendar year from exceeding 5% of the aggregate assessments collected for the
preceding calendar year. (3) Existing law authorizes the department to administratively impose
civil penalties on any person who is in violation of any provision of the carpet stewardship laws,
of up to $1,000 per day or $10,000 per day if the violation is intentional, knowing, or negligent.
(4) This bill would also make conforming changes and repeal obsolete provisions.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill would, among other things, require a carpet stewardship
organization to include in the carpet stewardship plan a contingency plan should the carpet
stewardship plan expire without approval of a new carpet stewardship plan or should the carpet
stewardship plan be revoked. The bill would require a carpet stewardship organization to set up
a trust fund or an escrow account, into which the bill would require the organization to deposit
all unexpended funds and ongoing consumer assessments, for use in the event that the carpet
stewardship plan terminates or is revoked. The bill would require, if a carpet stewardship plan is
revoked or terminated, the trustee or escrow agent to accept carpet stewardship assessment
payments directly from manufacturers and to make payments from the trust fund or escrow
account as the CalRecycle directs to implement the most recently approved carpet stewardship
plan. The bill would authorize CalRecycle, if a new carpet stewardship plan has not been
approved within one year after termination or revocation, to make modifications to the previously
approved plan and continue to direct payments from the trust fund or escrow account to
implement the modified plan. This bill would repeal certain provisions relating to the carpet
stewardship assessment and would replace the assessment with differential assessments that
take into account the financial burden that a particular carpet material has on the stewardship
program, and the amount of postconsumer recycled content contained in a particular carpet. (2)
This bill would repeal the prohibition on the total amount of the administrative fees to be paid to
CalRecycle. (3) This bill would increase the former penalty amount to $5,000 per day. (4) This
bill would also make conforming changes and repeal obsolete provisions.

AB 792 Ting and
Irwin

Amended
September 10,
2019.

Existing Law: (1) The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act,
requires every beverage container sold or offered for sale in this state to have a minimum refund
value. Under the act, the CalRecycle is required to calculate a processing fee for each beverage

Floor Alert in
Support sent to
State Senators on
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Enrolling
September 14,
2019.

container with a specified scrap value, which is required to be paid by beverage manufacturers
for each beverage container sold or transferred to a distributor or dealer. CalRecycle is required
to calculate the processing fee in a specified manner so that the actual processing fee generally
equals 65% of the processing payment that the department is required to pay to processors if
the scrap value of the container having a refund value pursuant to the act is less than the cost
of recycling. Existing law provides that a violation of the act or a regulation adopted pursuant to
the act is a crime. (2) The act requires CalRecycle to pay a market development payment to a
reclaimer, as defined, for empty plastic beverage containers that have been collected for
recycling in the state, and that the reclaimer washes and processes into flake, pellet, sheet, or
any other form that is then usable as input for the manufacture of new plastic products by product
manufacturers in the state. The act also requires CalRecycle to pay a market development
payment to a product manufacturer for plastic flake, pellet, sheet, or any other form of plastic
purchased from a reclaimer and used by that product manufacturer to manufacture a plastic
product in the state. The act makes these provisions inoperative on July 1, 2022. (3) Existing
law requires a manufacturer of a beverage sold in a plastic beverage container subject to the
California Redemption Value to annually report to CalRecycle the amount of virgin plastic and
postconsumer recycled plastic used by the manufacturer for plastic beverage containers subject
to the California Redemption Value for sale in the state in the previous calendar year. (4) Existing
law requires all rigid plastic bottles and rigid plastic containers sold in the state to be labeled with
a code indicating the resin used to produce the rigid plastic bottle or rigid plastic container.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill, on and after January 1, 2021, would require the total number of
plastic beverage containers filled with a beverage by a beverage manufacturer, as specified, to
contain, on average, specified amounts of postconsumer recycled plastic content per year
pursuant to a tiered plan that would require the total number of plastic beverage containers to
contain, on average, no less than 50% postconsumer recycled plastic content per year on and
after January 1, 2030. The bill would impose civil penalties, in specified amounts, on a beverage
manufacturer for a violation of these requirements. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to
enforce these provisions and would authorize CalRecycle to conduct audits and investigations
of a beverage manufacturer for the purpose of ensuring compliance. The bill would exempt from
the California Public Records Act information resulting from those audits and investigations. The
bill would require penalties collected to be deposited in the Recycling Enhancement Penalty
Account, which the bill would create. The bill would require moneys in the Recycling
Enhancement Penalty Account to be expended upon appropriation for the sole purpose of
supporting the recycling, infrastructure, collection, and processing of plastic beverage containers

September 5,
2019.
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in this state. The bill would require CalRecycle to contract with a research university for a
specified study to be completed by May 1, 2025. The bill would prohibit a city, county, or other
local government jurisdiction from adopting an ordinance regulating the minimum recycled
plastic content requirements for plastic beverage containers. (2) This bill, for when CalRecycle
is determining which entity to make a market development payment to, would require
CalRecycle to prioritize allocations that increase the collection, production, procurement, and
usage of beverage-grade recycling plastic in beverage containers. (3) This bill would require,
beginning March 1, 2020, and annually thereafter, a plastic material reclaimer to report to
CalRecycle, under penalty of perjury, the number of empty plastic beverage containers that the
plastic material reclaimer has collected and sold in the previous calendar year. The bill also
would require, beginning March 1, 2020, and annually thereafter, a manufacturer of
postconsumer recycled plastic to report to CalRecycle, under penalty of perjury, the amount in
pounds of "food-grade" flake, pellet, sheet, fines, or other forms that were sold in the previous
calendar year and their capacity to produce "food-grade" material. The bill would require
CalRecycle to post on its internet website, beginning July 1, 2020, a specified summary annually,
and, beginning September 1, 2020, a specified analysis biennially. (4) This bill would specify
that the above labeling requirement does not apply to rigid plastic containers or rigid plastic
bottles that are medical devices, medical products that are required to be sterile, prescription
medicine, and packaging used for those products. (5) The California Constitution requires the
state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.
Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

AB 815 Aguiar-
Curry

Chaptered
August 30, 2019.

Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by
CalRecycle, establishes an integrated waste management program. Existing law requires each
city, county, and regional agency to develop a source reduction and recycling element and a
household hazardous waste element of an integrated waste management plan. The act requires
the source reduction and recycling element to divert from disposal 50% of all solid waste subject
to the element through source reduction, recycling, and composting activities. Existing law
requires a city, county, or regional agency to submit an annual report to CalRecycle summarizing
its progress in reducing solid and household hazardous waste, and requires CalRecycle to
review a jurisdiction's compliance with the diversion requirements every 2 or 4 years, and
requires CalRecycle to issue an order of compliance if CalRecycle finds the jurisdiction failed to
make a good faith effort to implement its source reduction and recycling element or household
hazardous waste element. After issuing an order of compliance, existing law authorizes
CalRecycle to impose administrative civil penalties upon that jurisdiction.

Letter of Oppose
Unless Amended
sent to Senate
Committee on
Environmental
Quality on May
24, 2019.
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Proposed Law: This bill would require CalRecycle to consider whether the jurisdiction has
implemented a dual stream recycling program when considering if the jurisdiction has made a
good faith effort to implement its source reduction and recycling element or household
hazardous waste element.

AB 827 McCarthy Amended
August 27, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 11,
2019.

Existing Law: A business that generates 4 cubic yards or more of commercial solid waste or 8
cubic yards or more of organic waste per week is required to arrange for recycling services.

Proposed Law: This bill would require a business subject to either of those requirements, and
that provides customers access to the business, to provide customers with a recycling bin or
container for that waste stream that is visible, easily accessible, adjacent to each bin or container
for trash other than that recyclable waste stream, except in restrooms, and clearly marked with
educational signage. The bill would exempt full-service restaurants from its requirements. The
bill would also require CalRecycle to, on or before July 1, 2020, develop model signage that
commercial and organic waste generators may utilize to mark the recycling bins provided to
customers.

Letter of Support
if Amended sent
to Senate
Committee on
Appropriations on
June 20, 2019.

AB
1162

Kalra Amended
August 30, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 13,
2019.

Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the
CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. The
act prohibits certain stores from providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer at the point
of sale and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use plastic straws to
consumers unless requested by the consumer.

Proposed Law: This bill, commencing January 1, 2023, would prohibit a lodging establishment,
from providing a small plastic bottle containing a personal care product to a person staying in a
sleeping room accommodation, in any space within the sleeping room accommodation, or in an
area that is shared by the public or guests. The bill would authorize a state or local agency with
authority to inspect sleeping accommodations in a lodging establishment to enforce these
requirements by issuing a citation, provided that the agency be required to issue a written
warning upon a first violation of the above requirement, and to impose a penalty in the amount
of $500 for a 2nd or subsequent violation, not to exceed $2,000 annually. The bill would provide
that a lodging establishment that is in violation of the above requirement is liable for a civil
penalty in the amount of $500 for a first violation and $2,000 for a 2nd or subsequent violation
and would authorize the Attorney General or a district attorney, county counsel, or city attorney
to bring an action to impose the civil penalty. The bill would prohibit, on and after January 1,
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2020, a city, county, or city and county from passing or enforcing an ordinance, resolution,
regulation, or rule relating to personal care products in plastic bottles provided at lodging
establishments, except as provided.

AB
1298

Mullin Amended
August 22, 2019

Assembly
Committee on
Water, Parks,
and Wildlife.

Existing Law: Programs have been established pursuant to bond acts for, among other things,
drought, water, parks, climate, coastal protection, and outdoor access for all.

Proposed Law: This bill would enact the Climate Resiliency, Fire Risk Reduction, Recycling,
Groundwater and Drinking Water Supply, Clean Beaches, and Jobs Infrastructure Bond Act of
2020, which, if approved by the voters, would authorize the issuance of bonds in an unspecified
amount pursuant to the State General Obligation Bond Law to finance a climate resiliency, fire
risk reduction, recycling, groundwater and drinking water supply, clean beaches, and jobs
infrastructure program. The bill would require the bond act to be submitted to the voters at the
November 3, 2020, statewide general election.

AB
1583

Eggman Amended
September 6,
2019.

Enrolled
September 17,
2019.

Existing Law: (1) All rigid plastic bottles and rigid plastic containers sold in the state to be
labeled with a code that indicates the resin used to produce the bottles or containers, with
specified numbers and letters placed in relation to a triangle. (2) Existing law requires
CalRecycle to develop a comprehensive market development plan that will stimulate market
demand in the state for postconsumer waste material and secondary waste material generated
in the state. Existing law authorizes a local governing body to propose eligible property within its
jurisdiction as a recycling market development zone, and authorizes CalRecycle to designate
recycling market development zones. (3) Existing law creates the Recycling Market
Development Revolving Loan Subaccount and continuously appropriates the funds deposited
in the subaccount to CalRecycle for making loans and payments to specified entities within the
recycling market development zones and in other specified areas for purposes of the Recycling
Market Development Revolving Loan Program. Existing law makes these provisions inoperative
on July 1, 2021. (4) Existing sales and use tax laws impose taxes on retailers measured by the
gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property sold at retail in this state, or on the
storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased from a
retailer for storage, use, or other consumption in this state. The California Alternative Energy
and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority Act establishes the California Alternative
Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority. The act authorizes, until January 1,
2021, the authority to provide financial assistance to a participating party in the form of specified
sales and use tax exclusions for projects, including those that promote California-based
manufacturing, California-based jobs, advanced manufacturing, reduction of greenhouse gases,

Watch.
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or reduction in air and water pollution or energy consumption. The act prohibits the sales and
use tax exclusions from exceeding $100,000,000 for each calendar year. The Sales and Use
Tax Law, for the purposes of the taxes imposed pursuant to that law, until January 1, 2021,
excludes the lease or transfer of title of tangible personal property constituting a project to any
contractor for use in the performance of a construction contract for a participating party that will
use that property as an integral part of the approved project.

Proposed Law: This bill would: (1) delete the prescribed description of that triangle. (2) require
CalRecycle to convene a Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling
and would require the commission to, among other things, issue policy recommendations to
achieve specified market development goals and waste reduction goals and provide regular
feedback to CalRecycle on public messaging designed to encourage proper recycling and to
minimize contamination in curbside recycling programs. (3) extend the inoperative date of these
provisions to July 1, 2031. (4) extend the authorization to provide financial assistance in the form
of a sales and use tax exclusion for qualifying projects to January 1, 2031, and would extend
the sales and use tax exclusion to January 1, 2031. (5) This bill would incorporate additional
changes to Section 26011.8 of the Public Resources Code proposed by AB 176 to be operative
only if this bill and AB 176 are enacted and this bill is enacted last.

AB
1652

Wicks Amended March
21, 2019.

Senate Inactive
File.

Existing Law: Prohibits littering or dumping waste into a body of water or onto a beach or
shoreline. A violation of this prohibition is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine. Under existing
law, the court may, in addition to a fine, order a convicted person to pick up litter as a condition
of probation.

Proposed Law: This bill would instead authorize the court to order a person to perform
community service, including, but not limited to, picking up litter.

AB
1718

Glazer Amended
September 6,
2019.

Enrolling
September 12,
2019.

Existing Law: Makes it an infraction for a person to smoke a cigarette, cigar, or other tobacco
product within 25 feet of a playground or tot lot sandbox area.

Proposed Law: This bill would make it an infraction for a person to smoke on a state beach or
in a unit of the state park system or to dispose of used cigar or cigarette waste on a state coastal
beach or in a unit of the state park system. The bill would require the Department of Parks and
Recreation to develop and post signs at strategic locations, as determined by the Director of
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Parks and Recreation, of state beaches and units of the state park system operated by the
department to provide notice of the smoking prohibition. The bill would require an entity
operating, pursuant to an agreement with the department, a state beach or unit of the state park
system that is not operated by the department to post signs approved by the department at
strategic locations, as determined by the operating entity and approved by the department, to
provide notice of the smoking prohibition. The bill would require the smoking prohibition to be
enforced at a state beach or unit of the state park system only after appropriate signs have been
posted pursuant to these provisions.

AB
1770

Frazier Introduced
February 22,
2019.

Senate
Committee on
Environmental
Quality.

Existing Law: CalRecycle is required to administer a tire recycling program that promotes and
develops alternatives to the landfill disposal of used whole tires. The California Tire Recycling
Act requires a person who purchases a new tire to pay a California tire fee, for deposit in the
California Tire Recycling Management Fund, for expenditure by CalRecycle to pay the costs of
operating the tire recycling program. The act provides that the tire recycling program may include
the awarding of grants, loans, subsidies, and rebates and the payment of incentives for various
purposes related to reducing landfill disposal of used whole tires and tire recycling. Existing law
establishes the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act and requires CalRecycle, in
accordance with the tire recycling program, to award grants for certain public agency projects
that utilize rubberized asphalt concrete. Existing law makes the Rubberized Pavement Market
Development Act inoperative on June 30, 2019.

Proposed Law: This bill would extend the operation of the Rubberized Pavement Market
Development Act to June 30, 2024.

SB 33 Skinner Introduced
December 3,
2018.

Senate
Committee on
Rules.

Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the
CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste.

Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that would
address the collapse of foreign recycling markets by reducing solid waste generation,
encouraging transition to compostable or recyclable materials, and fostering domestic recycling
markets.

SB 44 Skinner Amended
August 12, 2019.

Enrolled

Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air
Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of
emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs). The act authorizes the state ARB to include the use of
market-based compliance mechanisms. Existing law requires all moneys, except for fines and
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September 13,
2019.

penalties, collected by the state ARB as part of a market-based compliance mechanism to be
deposited in the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund and to be available upon appropriation by
the Legislature. The California Clean Truck, Bus, and Off-Road Vehicle and Equipment
Technology Program, upon appropriation from the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund, funds
zero- and near-zero-emission truck, bus, and off-road vehicle and equipment technologies and
related projects.

Proposed Law: This bill would require the state ARB, no later than January 1, 2021, to develop
a comprehensive strategy for the deployment of medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles in the
state that results in bringing the state into compliance with federal ambient air quality standards,
a reduction of motor vehicle GHG emissions by 40% by 2030, and a reduction of motor vehicle
GHG emissions by 80% by 2050. The bill would authorize the state ARB to establish a process
to identify medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicle segments that can more quickly reduce motor
vehicle emissions, consistent with the California Clean Truck, Bus, and Off-Road Vehicle and
Equipment Technology Program and a beachhead market analysis. The bill, if the state board
does that identification, would require the state ARB to implement additional emissions reduction
strategies and motor vehicle deployment goals consistent with the comprehensive strategy. This
bill would state that 10% of the annual proceeds of the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund will be
appropriated in each annual Budget Act through the 2024-25 fiscal year to the state ARB for the
California Clean Truck, Bus, and Off-Road Vehicle and Equipment Technology Program to
support the commercialization and deployment of medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles that
reduce GHG emissions.

SB 143 Skinner Chaptered
September 5,
2019.

Existing Law: A junk dealer or recycler is generally prohibited from providing payment for
nonferrous material unless the payment is made by cash or check and other requirements are
met, including that the check is mailed or the cash or check is provided no earlier than 3 days
after the date of sale.

Proposed Law: This bill would authorize a junk dealer or recycler to also pay for nonferrous
material by general use prepaid card in accordance with specified requirements. This bill would
also make non-substantive changes. This bill would declare that it is to take effect immediately
as an urgency statute.

SB 210 Leyva Amended
September 6,
2019.

Existing Law: (1) Requires the State Air Resources Board (ARB), in consultation with the
Bureau of Automotive Repair and a specified review committee, to adopt regulations requiring
owners or operators of heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles to perform regular inspections of their
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Enrolled
September 17,
2019.

vehicles for excessive emissions of smoke. Existing law requires the state board, in consultation
with the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission, to adopt
regulations requiring heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles to use emission control equipment and
alternative fuels. (2) Existing law generally requires the registration of vehicles by the
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Under existing law, a violation of the Vehicle Code is an
infraction, unless otherwise specified.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill would require the state ARB, in consultation with the bureau and
other specified entities, to implement a pilot program that develops and demonstrates
technologies that show potential for readily bringing heavy-duty vehicles into an inspection and
maintenance program. The bill would require the state ARB, no later than 2 years after the
completion of the pilot program, to develop and implement a Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and
Maintenance Program for nongasoline heavy-duty onroad motor vehicles. The bill would
authorize the state ARB to assess a fee and penalties as part of the program. The bill would
require the state ARB, by January 10, 2022, to submit a proposed schedule of fees, as part of
the Governor's proposed budget to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee for approval by the
Legislature by statute. The bill would create the Truck Emission Check (TEC) Fund, with all the
moneys deposited in the fund to be available upon appropriation. The bill would require the state
ARB, at least 60 days prior to the first hearing of the state ARB to consider the adoption of any
rules or regulations initially implementing the program, to submit those proposed rules and
regulations to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and to the appropriate policy committees
of the Legislature. This bill would require the state ARB, upon the implementation of the Heavy-
Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, to provide mechanisms for out-of-state
owners of heavy-duty vehicles to establish and verify compliance prior to entering the state. This
bill would additionally require the state ARB, within 4 years following full implementation, to
provide on its internet website 2 biennial reports, including information regarding enforcement
and operational downtime, downtime in addition to an estimate of the emissions reduced and
cost-effectiveness. (2) This bill, no later than one year after the effective date of a regulation
implementing the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, would require the
DMV to confirm that a heavy-duty vehicle is compliant with, or exempt from, the program prior
to the initial registration, the transfer of ownership, or the renewal of registration. The bill would
require the state ARB to notify the DMV of the vehicles allowed to be registered pursuant to
these provisions. This bill would authorize the DMV to issue a temporary permit, valid for a
specified period and subject to certain conditions, to operate a vehicle for which registration may
be refused pursuant to the above-described provisions. The bill would require the payment of a
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$50 fee for the temporary permit, to be deposited in the Truck Emission Check (TEC) Fund. This
bill, commencing one year after the effective date of a regulation implementing the Heavy-Duty
Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, would require a legal owner or registered owner
of the heavy-duty vehicle to maintain a certificate of compliance with the vehicle, with exceptions,
and would make a violation of this provision subject to a notice issued by an officer to correct
the violation. The bill would require the driver of the vehicle to present the certificate of
compliance for examination upon demand by a peace officer. This bill would prohibit the
operation of a heavy-duty vehicle on a public road in this state if that vehicle has an illuminated
malfunction indicator light displaying a specified engine symbol, and would make a violation of
this provision subject to a notice issued by an officer to correct the violation on the basis of its
designation as a mechanical violation. The bill would specify that a violation of this requirement
is a correctable violation if the correction is made, as specified. This bill would prohibit the
operation of a heavy-duty vehicle in a manner resulting in the escape of visible smoke, except
during active regeneration. The bill would specify that a violation of this requirement is a
correctable violation if the correction is made.

SB 457 Hueso Amended June
18, 2019.

Enrolled
September 13,
2019.

Existing Law: The Public Utilities Commission (PUC) has regulatory authority over public
utilities, including gas corporations. Existing law authorizes the PUC to fix the rates and charges
for every public utility and requires that those rates and charges be just and reasonable. Existing
law requires the PUC to adopt policies and programs that promote the in-state production and
distribution of biomethane, and that facilitate the development of a variety of sources of in-state
biomethane. The PUC has adopted 2 decisions implementing these requirements, the 2nd of
which adopted a 5-year monetary incentive program effective June 11, 2015, for biomethane
projects. Existing law requires the PUC to modify the monetary incentive program in specified
respects and to extend the program until December 31, 2021.

Proposed Law: This bill would require the commission to extend the program until December
31, 2026, or until all available program funds are expended, whichever occurs first.

Floor Alert of
Support sent to
Assembly on
August 6, 2019.

SB 552 Archuleta Amended
September 5,
2019.

Enrolled
September 13,
2019.

Existing Law: Part of the hazardous waste control laws, authorizes public agencies or their
contractors to operate household hazardous waste (HHW) collection facilities and specifies
conditions for the transportation of HHW. A violation of the hazardous waste control laws is a
crime. (1) Existing law authorizes a registered hazardous waste transporter operating a door-to-
door HHW collection program or HHW residential pickup service to use a specified manifesting
procedure for transporting HHW, if the transporter complies with certain operating and reporting
requirements. Existing law requires a transporter that uses the specified manifesting procedure
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to submit quarterly reports to the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) and requires
DTSC to make all of the information in the quarterly reports available to the public. Existing law
requires a public agency to retain a copy of the manifest in a specified manner. Existing law
makes these manifesting requirements inoperative on January 1, 2020. (2) Existing law requires
a facility operator in the state who receives hazardous waste for handling, treatment, storage,
disposal, or any combination thereof, which was transported with a manifest, to submit a copy
of the manifest to DTSC. Existing law authorizes a facility operator to submit to DTSC an
electronic report that meets certain requirements in lieu of submitting the copy of each manifest
used. Existing law, if an out-of-state receiving facility is not required to submit the signed
manifest copy to the DTSC, requires a transporter, acting on behalf of the generator, to submit
a copy of the manifest signed by the receiving hazardous waste facility to DTSC. (3) Existing
law authorizes a door-to-door HHW collection program or HHW residential pickup service,
operated by a public agency or its contractor, that meets specified requirements to collect HHW
from individual residences and, on and before December 31, 2019, to transport that waste to a
hazardous waste facility. Existing law requires, on and before December 31, 2019, those public
agencies or contractors that transport HHW to a hazardous waste facility to use the manifesting
procedures described above. (4) Existing law requires the Secretary for Environmental
Protection to implement a unified hazardous waste and hazardous materials management
regulatory program, also known as the unified program. Existing law requires every county to
apply to the secretary to be certified to implement the unified program, and authorizes a city or
local agency that meets specified requirements to apply to the secretary to be certified to
implement the unified program. Existing law requires the unified program to consolidate the
administration of certain requirements, including, among others, the hazardous waste control
laws that are applicable to, on and before December 31, 2019, a transfer facility, that is operated
by a door-to-door HHW collection program or HHW residential pickup service.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill would extend the operation of those provisions indefinitely. (2) This
bill would repeal the above provisions authorizing a facility operator to submit that electronic
report in lieu of a copy of each manifest and requiring a transporter to submit a copy of the
manifest to DTSC. (3) This bill would extend the operation of those provisions indefinitely. (4)
This bill would extend the operation of the requirement to consolidate the administration of the
hazardous waste control laws that are applicable to those transfer facilities indefinitely. This bill
would incorporate additional changes to Sections 25218.1 and 25218.5 of the Health and Safety
Code proposed by SB 726 to be operative only if this bill and SB 726 are enacted and this bill is
enacted last.
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SB 634 Glazer and
Stern

Amended
September 9,
2019.

Assembly
Committee on
Rules.

Existing Law: (1) The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act (Act)
requires the CalRecycle to annually designate convenience zones and requires that at least one
certified recycling center that meets certain requirements be located within every convenience
zone. Existing law authorizes CalRecycle to grant a convenience zone an exemption from
certain redemption requirements, including certain dealer and recycling center redemption
requirements, based on certain factors. Existing law limits the total number of exemptions that
may be granted to 35% of the total number of convenience zones identified as having one or
more of those factors applicable. (2) The Act requires dealers within a convenience zone where
no recycling location has been established, or within a convenience zone that is unserved for
60 days and not exempt from convenience zone requirements, to submit an affidavit to
CalRecycle stating that the dealer has met specified standards for redemption, including, among
others, that the dealer is redeeming all empty beverage container types at all open cash registers
or at one designated location on the dealer's premises, during all hours that the dealer is open
for business. If the dealer does not submit that affidavit, existing law requires the dealer to pay
$100 per day to CalRecycle, for deposit in the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund, a
continuously appropriated fund described in (3), until a recycling location is established or until
the dealer meets the standards for redemption specified in the affidavit provision. (3) The Act
establishes the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund and, except for administrative
costs, continuously appropriates moneys in the fund to CalRecycle for specified purposes,
including the amount necessary to pay handling fees to certain types of recyclers to provide an
incentive for the redemption of empty beverage containers in convenience zones. (4) The Act
also continuously appropriates from the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund
$10,500,000 annually for payments to cities and counties for beverage container recycling and
litter cleanup activities. The act authorizes CalRecycle to withhold those payments to any city,
county, or city and county that has restricted or prohibited the siting of a supermarket site. (5)
Under the Act, CalRecycle is required to calculate a processing fee for each beverage container
with a specified scrap value, which is required to be paid by beverage manufacturers for each
beverage container sold or transferred to a distributor or dealer. CalRecycle is required to
calculate the processing fee in a specified manner, so that the processing fee generally equals
65% of the processing payment that CalRecycle is required to pay to processors if the scrap
value of the container having a refund value pursuant to the ACT is less than the cost of
recycling. CalRecycle is required to determine the statewide weighted average cost to recycle
each beverage container type by conducting a survey. CalRecycle is required to establish a
processing fee account in the continuously appropriated California Beverage Container
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Recycling Fund for each material type and to deposit processing fees and other amounts in the
applicable account.

Proposed Law: (1) This bill would increase the total number of exemptions that may be granted
to 40% of the number identified as eligible. The bill would require CalRecycle to review
exemptions every 2 years to determine if each exemption still meets the prescribed exemption
criteria. (2) This bill would revise these convenience zone redemption duties and exempt from
those duties dealers with gross annual sales of less than $2,000,000 and dealers that are not
supermarkets and that have less than 5,000 square feet of interior retail space. The bill, until
January 1, 2022, would also exempt certain other dealers from these requirements. (3) This bill
would require CalRecycle to offer a handling fee payment from the fund to certain certified
recyclers within unserved convenience zones. The bill would make an appropriation by changing
the terms and conditions under which CalRecycle is authorized to make payments from a
continuously appropriated fund. The bill would authorize CalRecycle, until July 1, 2022, to
annually expend $3,000,000 from the fund for specified supplemental handling fee payments to
low-volume recycling centers. By authorizing the expenditure of a continuously appropriated
fund for new purposes, this bill would make an appropriation. The bill would require CalRecycle
to develop and submit to the Legislature recommended revisions to the handling fee provisions,
as specified. The bill would require CalRecycle to suspend usage of surveys and calculations of
recycling costs until at least January 1, 2021. (4) This bill would require CalRecycle, on or before
July 1, 2020, to convene a public hearing for purposes of discussing and receiving public
testimony on the development of guidelines for evaluating the circumstances that might prompt
CalRecycle to withhold beverage container recycling and litter cleanup activities payments to
any city, county, or city and county that has restricted or prohibited the siting of a supermarket
site. (5) This bill would authorize the director of CalRecycle, notwithstanding any other provision
of the Act, to declare a recycling exigency if CalRecycle makes specified determinations. If the
director declares a recycling exigency, the bill would authorize CalRecycle to take the following
actions: for any type of beverage container for which the annual recycling rate has dropped by
a specified amount, adjust the processing payment to reflect a cost of recycling that is increased
by at least 10%; increase the handling fee by at least 10%; establish and distribute from the fund
supplemental recycling incentives totaling up to $500,000 per month to encourage the siting of
new recycling centers; and establish and distribute from the fund PET quality incentive payments
totaling up to $500,000 per month to material recovery facilities. The bill would establish a
contingency for each of these actions that would trigger the termination of CalRecycle's authority
to undertake the action. The bill would also authorize CalRecycle, if the director declares a
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recycling exigency, to approve limited-term pilot projects in accordance with prescribed criteria.
By expanding the purposes of a continuously appropriated fund, this bill would make an
appropriation.

SB 726 Caballero Amended
August 30, 2019.

Enrolled and
presented to the
Governor
September 17,
2019.

Existing Law: As part of the hazardous waste control laws, authorizes a public agency or its
contractor to operate a household hazardous waste collection facility for the purpose of
collecting, handling, treating, storing, recycling, or disposing of household hazardous waste
(HHW). Existing law authorizes a public agency to conduct a materials exchange program as a
part of its HHW collection program if the public agency determines which reusable household
hazardous products or materials are suitable and acceptable for distribution to the public in
accordance with a quality assurance plan prepared by the public agency. Existing law imposes
certain requirements for a quality assurance plan. Existing law requires a public agency to
instruct a recipient to use the product in a manner consistent with the instructions on the label.
A violation of the hazardous waste control laws is a crime. Existing law requires hazardous waste
to be transported to a HHW collection facility by specified entities, including, among others, a
temporary HHW collection facility or a registered hazardous waste transporter carrying
hazardous waste from a solid waste landfill loadcheck program or a transfer station loadcheck
program under agreement with the household hazardous waste collection facility. Existing law
prohibits an individual from transporting hazardous waste that exceeds a specified maximum
volume or weight.

Proposed Law: This bill would define "materials exchange program" for these purposes to
mean a program conducted at a HHW collection facility that makes reusable household
hazardous products or materials available to recipients. The bill would additionally authorize a
public agency's contractor to conduct a materials exchange program and would require the
contractor to provide the same instructions to a recipient. The bill would revise the requirements
for the preparation and implementation of a quality assurance plan to require, among other
things, a quality assurance plan prepared by a public agency, or its contractor, to be
implemented at each HHW collection facility operated by the public agency, or its contractor, at
which a materials exchange program is operated. The bill would require a recipient of a reusable
household hazardous product or material to use the product or material in conformance with its
label, use appropriate personal protection, and manage unused products or materials as
required by applicable California law, or as required by any applicable law in the state in which
the product or material is discarded. The bill would impose additional requirements on certain
recipients that are commercial entities, including, among other requirements, that those

Floor Alert of
Support sent to
Assembly on
August 29, 2019.
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commercial entities sign a statement certifying the accuracy of certain information under penalty
of perjury. Because the bill would expand the application of a crime, it would impose a state-
mandated local program. The bill would require a public agency or its contractor, to immediately
discontinue providing reusable household hazardous products or materials to a commercial
entity if the commercial entity cannot verify its compliance with the additional requirements. This
would additionally authorize a permanent HHW collection facility to transport hazardous waste.
The bill would prohibit an individual from transporting reusable household hazardous products
or materials that exceed the above-mentioned maximum volume or weight. The bill would
require transportation of a reusable household hazardous product or material by a public agency
or its contractor, or by a recipient, to be in compliance with all applicable shipping requirements
of the United States Department of Transportation. This bill would incorporate additional
changes to Sections 25218.1 and 25218.5 of the Health and Safety Code proposed by SB 552
to be operative only if this bill and SB 552 are enacted and this bill is enacted last.


